F1 no image

Published on July 1st, 2013 | by Trevor Lamenya


Rosberg pilots the ‘three pointed star’ to victory at Silverstone



German driver Nico Rosberg survived great late pressure to claim his second win of the season in Sunday’s breathless and dramatic British Grand Prix at Silverstone.

Rosberg, who turned 28 on Thursday, came home just seven-tenths of a second clear of second placed Australian Mark Webber of Red Bull in a furious finish to a tumultuous event.

It was the Mercedes team’s first victory in Britain since Stirling Moss won at Aintree in 1955 and Rosberg’s second in three races and third of his career.

But the race was overshadowed by a dangerous spate of Pirelli tyre failures, including one that blew home hero Briton Lewis Hamilton’s hopes of a home win in the other Mercedes car as he led from pole position.

In all, four drivers were hit by tyre blowouts while championship leading defending triple world champion German Sebastian Vettel was forced to retire his Red Bull for the first time this year after inheriting the lead.

Hamilton’s tyre explosion was followed by others for Brazilian Felipe Massa of Ferrari, Frenchman Jean-Eric Vergne of Toro Rosso and Mexican Sergio Perez of McLaren in a contest that saw two Safety Car interventions.

Webber, who fell to 15th on the opening lap, fought back to finish second in his first race since announcing he was quitting Formula One at the end of the season ahead of two-time champion German Fernando Alonso in the second Ferrari and Hamilton, who stormed from the back to finish fourth despite his tyre failure.

Alonso closed the gap in the overall standings on Vettel, who has 132 points while the Spaniard is on 111 after eight races with the next race the German Grand Prix next Sunday.

Kimi Raikkonen, the 2007 champion, finished fifth for Lotus ahead of Massa, German Adrian Sutil of Force India and rising hope Australian Daniel Ricciardo of Toro Rosso.

Briton Paul Di Resta of Force India finished ninth and German Nico Hulkenberg 10th for Sauber on an amazing day in rare British sunshine.


1. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1:32:59.456

2. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull – Renault +00:00.765

3. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 00:07.124

4. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 00:07.756

5. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus – Renault 00:11.257

6. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 00:14.573

7. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India – Mercedes 00:16.335

8. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 00:16.543

9. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India – Mercedes 00:17.943

10. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Sauber – Ferrari 00:19.709

11. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams – Renault 00:21.135

12. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams – Renault 00:25.094

13. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 00:25.969

14. Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber – Ferrari 00:26.285

15. Charles Pic (France) Caterham – Renault 00:31.613

16. Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia – Cosworth 00:36.097

17. Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia – Cosworth 01:07.660

18. Giedo van der Garde (Netherlands) Caterham – Renault 01:07.759

19r. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus – Renault 1 lap

20r. Sergio Perez (Mexico) McLaren 6 laps

r. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull – Renault 11 laps

r. Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 16 laps

(rank: r = retired, nc = not classified)

Fastest Lap: Mark Webber,1:33.401, lap 52.


1. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 132

2. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 111

3. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus 98

4. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 89

5. Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull 87

6. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 82

7. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 57

8. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India 36

9. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 26

10. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 25

11. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India 23

12. Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso 13

13. Sergio Perez (Mexico) McLaren 12

14. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso 11

15. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Sauber 6

16. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams 0

17. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 0

18. Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber 0

19. Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia 0

20. Charles Pic (France) Caterham 0

21. Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia 0

22. Giedo van der Garde (Netherlands) Caterham 0


1. RedBull – Renault 219

2. Mercedes 171

3. Ferrari 168

4. Lotus – Renault 124

5. Force India – Mercedes 59

6. McLaren 37

7. Toro Rosso – Ferrari 24

8. Sauber – Ferrari 6

9. Williams – Renault 0

10. Marussia – Cosworth 0

11. Caterham – Renault 0


About the Author

Trevor Lamenya

Trevor is one of the top motoring journalists in Kenya and is very passionate when it comes to motoring. He has been instrumental in developing content for numerous publications including Autozine Magazine, Capital FM, SME Today, MALE Magazine and American website Top Speed. Currently he is the Editor in chief of www.autovaulttv.com as well as running a syndicated motoring column published in the Sunday Standard, Kenya’s second largest newspaper.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑